New Year’s Resolutions: Beauty and Fashion

I hope everyone had a great holiday and a happy New Year’s. I apologize for not doing any new posts for a long time. I was so busy over break! Anyway, I promise to do a lot of new posts.(That’s one of my new year’s resolutions!)

Oh and I accidentally posted this before I finished! Sorry about that.

So I’m sure a lot of you have New Year’s resolutions. This post is going to be about some resolutions related to fashion and beauty that a lot of people(including myself) can improve on.

Beauty:

1)Get Great Skin!

To get your best skin and to beat breakouts it’s important to have a good skincare routine that you stick to. Right now, I’m using proactiv and it has been working really well for me. Use what’s best for your skin though. I have oilier skin and some acne, so proactiv works for me, but if you have dryer skin, you may want to use gentler, creamier products. Another important thing is to use foundation or tinted moisturizer to cover up any imperfections. I am using the clinique even better foundation and I love it!

Here’s what I use:

2)  Keep your skin from getting dry in the winter.

Even oily skin like mine dries out in the winter, so you’ll need to adjust your skin care routine. For me, that means always using a moisturizer, morning and night. I use a lotion with spf 30 in the morning, since you should always protect your skin from sun damage year round. At night, I either use cerave, clinique moisturizing lotion, or Josie Maran argon oil. I know that sounds  weird, using an oil on oily skin, but it moisturizes really well and doesn’t break me out. It’s also great for cuticles, hands, lips etc. Speaking of which, use a hand cream every day and apply lip balm constantly. For my body, I just got the Bliss Lemon and Sage Body Butter and I absolutely love it! Right now, if you click here, they have a set of the full sized body butter and body wash(which is also great!) for $21. I think there’s free shipping too. Other body lotions that I love are Cerave(you can also use it for your body) and the body shop cocoa or strawberry body butters.

3) Get silky, shiny hair

Use a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. Also, don’t wash your hair every day! You’ll strip the hair of natural oils. Use a deep conditioner weekly(tip: apply deep conditioner after shampoo making sure to first squeeze out the excess water. Then, using a wide tooth comb, comb through hair. Put hair in a shower cap while the water is still running to let the heat make the treatment work better. You can also do this with regular conditioner)  and a glossing treatment every week or month. Another tip: Use a natural bristle brush to help distribute the oils throughout the hair. This will also make hair look less greasy at the top.

My picks:

4) Drink water and get enough sleep!

I’m sure you’ve heard these before but if you’re dehydrated, your lips and skin will be parched and if you don’t sleep enough, your skin won’t look as good. You’ll have dark circles or puffy eyes and your skin will look dull. I know it’s hard with school to get enough sleep but try to get 8 hours in if you can.

Another tip: Get a humidifier for your room! This will keep your skin from drying out!

Fashion:

1) Accessorize, accessorize, accessorize!

Who doesn’t love accessories? They are fun and can really help you to make the most of your clothes. Example: you can update your basics from last year with new accessories to make the look a lot more fashion forward. Try bold jewelry, bright colors, printed scarves, belting loose dresses and tops etc. Also try: wearing high heeled boots

2) Rework what you already own

Try wearing your favorite jeans with a different top or your sweater with leggings instead of jeans etc. Just mix it up! You’ll probably have to plan out what you’re going to wear in advance.

I made polyvore sets featuring some basic items that you probably already have and styled them completely different ways.

The key pieces:

-Jeggings/skinny jeans

-black tights

-shawl cardigan

-white t-shirt

-riding boots

-ankle boots

-menswear belt
BONUS: Print scarves and statement necklaces are in more than one look!

3) Stay warm, look cute!

Winter is in full swing and it’s really cold out in most places. To stay warm, layer chunky sweaters over thin t-shirts, add leggings, boots, scarves, and a coat. You can even add a hat and gloves if you’re going to be outside for a while.

Wow, that was a long post! What are your New Year’s Resolutions? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

