Friend Friday: Rules of Engagement

I’m back to doing Modly Chic’s Friend Friday again!:) I’m excited to do this one. This time, the topic is about interaction between bloggers. Be sure to head over to Modly Chic to check out the other entries.

1. Guest posts are a good way to gain new exposure. What do you think is the appropriate way to go about securing a guest spot?

I think that it’s a good idea to ask the people that you already interact with and read their blogs regularly and that are in the same (or similar) niche that you are in. You want to make sure that their post will add something to your blog and make sense with what topics you normally post about.

2. Leaving comments is essential to growing your blog. But how can you leave a comment without coming across as ‘Follow Me. Follow Me.’?

I think you have to make sure that you really read the post and have something valid to add. Don’t just type a few words and ask me to follow your blog. I usually click on the url’s of my commenters if I thought they had an interesting comment. It can’t all be about promotion. I like to think of it as: you should comment only if you would comment if you weren’t a blogger and were just a reader. Before I started blogging, I read a lot of other blogs and commented when I had something to say. Write what you would write just as a reader.

3. We’ve all gotten a mass email at one time or another asking for blog exposure, a link exchange etc…But the mass emails don’t work. How do you make your email stand out from the crowd?

I think you should first start by commenting on their posts if you really do like their blog and have something to say. This will create an interaction between both of you. Then, you can send an email and link your blog but maybe don’t ask them to follow you or link you, just put the link at the bottom of the email. Say who you are and your user name and point out specific posts/outfits that you liked.

4. In interacting with other bloggers where do you draw the line between seeking support and begging for exposure?

I think that you have to do your part too. You have to keep reading their blog too and tell them what you like about it. Then you can ask them for advice on your own blog. Maybe say something you like about their blog and ask how that is working for them and if they think you could do that too.

5. What’s one rule of engagement error you made and how have your remedied that?

When I first started blogging a few months ago, I posted a lot of comments on a lot of different blogs and didn’t really have anything meaningful to say. I just wanted people to click the link over to my site and to get exposure. Now, I comment on posts that I genuinely enjoyed and point out specifics.

If you’re a blogger, what are your rules of engagement?

2 thoughts on “Friend Friday: Rules of Engagement

  1. Love you, Liz! I feel like you & your site have grown SO much over the past few months, which is great! :] Keep up the amazing work! :]

    Love, Cass

Leave a Reply

